Provincetown American Playwright Awards (PAPA)

In 2018, the Provincetown Theater Artistic Director David Drake and the board of directors of the Provincetown Theater Foundation created the Provincetown American Playwright Award (PAPA). An annual tribute engaging Provincetown’s literary heritage as the Birthplace of Modern American Drama, the PAPA is presented each year to honor a living American writer whose contributions have paid invaluable witness to the American experience in ways that’ve nurtured and expanded the spirit of our souls – not only on our own country’s stages but on the world stage as well. The recipient is honored at a fundraising benefit each summer at the bayside home of longtime Provincetown arts supporters Ken Fulk & Kurt Wootton.

In 2021, in addition to the PAPA, two new awards were inaugurated: The Provincetown Theater Trailblazer Award, presented to an emerging playwright, and the Provincetown Theater Icon Award, presented in recognition of achievement in acting.

Our 2022 Fundraiser

In lieu of a PAPA event, we're planning to hold another kind of gala fundraiser in Fall 2022. Please monitor this page for updates. Thank you!

2021 PAPA Recipient – Doug Wright

2021 Trailblazer Award – Michael R. Jackson

2021 Icon Award – Kelli O’Hara

2020 Recipient – Charles Busch

Charles Busch Provincetown American Playwright Award

2019 Recipient – Paula Vogel

2019 PAPA Paula Vogel

2018 Recipient – Terrence McNally

PAPA Recipient 2018 Terrence McNally


A sincere thank you to all of our generous sponsors!